Steering elbow

Hello all,

This is my first build but not my first rodeo. I have been concerned with the strength of my steering wheel attachments, I have opted for 20 mm downhill hubs and axels. See my pictures please. Should I be concerned with folding up the steering tubes?

Any other thoughts?

Cheers,

Leigh

I cant quite make out from the pictures. Are you using a hollow tube as the axle? What is the means of securing the wheel to the axle?

I cant quite make out from the pictures. Are you using a hollow tube as the axle? What is the means of securing the wheel to the axle?

Yes, the black tube which is a downhill mountain bike axel is the axel. I was also concerned about its hollowness and was going to sleeve it with aluminum or steel. The quick release will go through the whole assembly and in to a threaded insert in the elbow.

As a general rule a thick walled tube will perform as well as a solid in such a scenario. What's the wall thickness of the axle and is it steel or ally?

When I did mine I used 2mm walled 20mm precision tube which was exceptionally strong.
I then captured the wheel hubs onto those axles with M16 12.9 hardness bolts and washers. Overkill? Certainly!
But, as I had suffered a broken shoulder from a failure in the past, I didn't want to repeat the "fun". ;)

As a general rule a thick walled tube will perform as well as a solid in such a scenario. What's the wall thickness of the axle and is it steel or ally?
Thickness measures at 2.15mm at the ends and has an internal shoulder where it thickens to 3.3mm it is aluminum and no doubt a high load piece as it is designed to take big air impacts from downhill mountain biking.

My trike has a wide wheel base and is going to incorporate a small sail so the loads will be larger than average.

Leigh