Doug's Warrior Plan Questions 5 - Brake Support Tubes / Steering Tabs

dklawson

Sorry, I am an engineer and the part dimensions and part location dimensions in the plans are presented in a confusing way.

Pages 121 & 122, Figures 141 & 142 (Under Seat Steering)
The position of the under seat head tube is given as "10 inches". From where to where?
The plans dimension the location from an implied point on the frame boom to the circumference of an un-dimensioned circle (the short head tube).
I assume the left hand arrowhead is pointing at the implied intersection of the seat back tube and frame boom.
The right hand arrowhead appears to be pointing to the OD of the short head tube. Is that correct or is it to the center of the head tube diameter?

Likewise, Page 131, Diagram 7 (brake tubes and steering tabs)
The plans say the tubes are 3/4" square, 4.25" long. Diagram 7 implies the tube length is before one end is modified with a fish mouth cut. Is that correct?.
Also....
The tabs shown in diagram 7 are implied to be as wide as the tube is square (3/4") with a full radius end.
The through-hole for the rod end is dimensioned as 1/2" from the radius end.
The hole cannot be located 1/2" from the end AND simultaneously in the center of the full radius end.
I plan to use 3/4" wide by 1/8" thick tabs and position the rod end hole in the center of the full radius end. That will position the hole 1.75" from the "bottom edge" of the brake tubes as shown in diagram 7.

Does anyone have comments about what worked for them?

"will be placed under the frame boom at a distance of 10 inches from the rear end"

I took the rear end to mean the part of the frame where you capped the tube.

The steering tube is usually 1 to 1.125 in in diameter. If you measured to the center or the OD, you only have a difference of a half in or so and the instructions say you can play with the position and see what works.