PRESENTATION

Hello Gents,
My name is Charles and I am from Belgium Europe. I am a structural engineer but retired at the age of 69. I am currently trying to build my own trike and therefor I have enslisted myself in a TIG welding school. My frame is already finished in steel (trial version). Currently I am going to attach my front wheels and back wheel. For the front wheels I want to place 20" wheels with an axle of 14 mm. Back wheel is 26". As the contraption is a trial version from which I will have to erase the errors I did not really wanted to put too much money in it. So i have no bearings on the steering system and the brakes will be just block brakes on the front wheel.
My first question is : Do you think that a steering right on the wheels is O.K.?
My second question is: Should I add a Torpedo system of brakes on the rear wheel? (torpedo system is a system where by pedalling backwards you start to brake.

Another thing I am currently after is a kind of "engine" to back up when the going is steep and hard. I was thinking about a system that could be loaded only through pedaling, but I have tp do some more research on this. As we all know, energy is going to cost more and more and we have to find a way of creating this energy ourselves. How? That is the question of course. Are e going for a kind of battery or a pressure volume, I do not rightly know, but I am searching.
I think it would be nice to create a think thank with a few interested members and see where we come.

Thanks for any info. I really am curious to hear your ideas.
May the force be with US.
Charles

Radical Brad

Garage Hacker!
Staff member
Greets!

If you do a coaster brake, you will limit yourself to only a single speed.
Better to just add caliper brakes or even a disc if you have parts available.

Most braking is done by front wheels on a tadpole trike as well.
I don't ever bother with the rear brake, unless I intend to do some stunt riding (slides around corners on gravel mostly).

Brad